What Our Guests Are Saying

5 star ratingAmazing-will be back! Beautiful place, really affordable for all of the amenities, comfy, cozy, and welcoming. Felt like I was at home, but also had tons of privacy. Hosts were amazing-only saw them at checkout, but they were also very accommodating if we needed them, super friendly in the morning, and wonderful!

ionahdance Avatar
ionahdance
1/05/2019

5 star ratingFabulous I have stayed at these locations on multiple occasions.

They are perfect

Cozy and romantic

They are so clean and the staff is wonderful

They have so many special little touches that make it so wonderful

I highly recommend you treat yourself to a weekend or an over night

You won’t regret it

Thank you to the wonderful staff

I will be back

heatherk236 Avatar
heatherk236
1/03/2019

5 star ratingBear Mountain Lodge My husband and I celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary with a long weekend in Wellsboro, PA. The accommodations at the lodge were above and beyond our expectations. We stayed in the Wilderness Suite which was roomy, clean, and perfect for a couple’s getaway. We loved the quiet location, the stocked fridge, and friendliness of the hosts. Having access to the kitchen in the common area was helpful as we were hiking quite a bit in the gorge and appreciated the granola and beverages. We have decided we will be making a weekend stay at the Bear Mountain Lodge a tradition. Highly recommend!

Jessica C Avatar
Jessica C
12/14/2018

5 star ratingWe plan to return in a different season! Our room was excellent, large but cozy and comfortable! Housekeeping was great and we loved the quite and peaceful surroundings. We came to hike and ride bikes and explore the Wellsboro town. Loved the Bonus Bucks we received for each night. So much fun to deceide how to spend!

bareroad Avatar
bareroad
12/13/2018

5 star ratingMini Honeymoon We stayed here just for a small getaway after we got married, it was so cozy and a nice place to just relax! Can’t wait to go back! We enjoyed one of the nice rooms with a private hot tub! It was very welcoming with directions on how to get to room and even got to keep a nice bag. Upon going in our room they had the tv and fireplace going!

kelly h Avatar
kelly h
12/12/2018

5 star ratingPerfect Solitude After a fun day of hiking the PA Grand Canyon, we arrived to a self check-in: the key was waiting for us on the door with a welcome note and a jute bag filled with information about the area. As we walked in, we were greeted by flickering electric candles, quiet jazz music, a fresh rose, and a Keurig full of water and ready for brewing. The place was clean, comfortable and beautiful. It was a perfect getaway for us: we had been seeking quiet refreshing, and we found it at the Bear Meadows Wilds Room. We lit our fireplace, put on the comfortable robes, and relaxed in the private hot tub on our back patio. Then we brewed some coffee and had a chance to talk and reconnect in this very remote location, way up in the woods and mountains of Tioga County. We spent time walking the quaint streets of Wellsboro and visiting many of the locally-owned/run shops. Definitely check out Pop's Culture, a game store run by a husband and wife team. Also, the burgers at the GasLight Bar and Grill were amazing. During our entire stay at Bear Meadows, we didn't see another soul, and even though the other rooms seemed to be booked, we barely heard anything from our neighbors. I highly recommend Bear Meadows Lodge to anyone seeking quiet relaxation. More

Fearless54267447587 Avatar
Fearless54267447587
11/14/2018

5 star ratingRUSTIC BUT MODERN Just stayed one night. The room was large with everything you could hope for and I could even figure out how to use the TV. It was quiet as night came on as you are just off a busy road. There is no breakfast served but there are muffins, drinks, granola bars, fruit, etc for breakfast so you won't go hungry. The place is large and clean and I would recommend.

Caribbeancrazy243 Avatar
Caribbeancrazy243
10/13/2018

5 star rating25th Anniversary Getaway What a fantastic place! This is the first my wife and I had ever stayed at a B&B and was very pleasantly surprised. We loved the 2 room suite we had. It was so nice to relax in the living area after a day at the PA Grand Canyon. The snack basket and mini-fridge with few assorted beverages was an unexpected nice touch.

John S Avatar
John S
9/30/2018

5 star ratingLovely lodge for a romantic getaway We recently stayed here for 2 nights. It is set up in a wooded, semi-secluded mountain area near the pine creek gorge, also called the grand canyon of the east. Wellsboro, pa, is a quaint old-time village 6 miles from the lodge. The lodge is a b & b; one room has a hot tub on the deck; one a whirlpool tub in room. Owner was very sweet.

bertarthur Avatar
bertarthur
9/26/2018

5 star ratingGreat location and rooms My parents wanted to see the Pennsylvania grand canyon, so we quickly planned a road trip. We rented two rooms at the lodge and were very pleased. It is beautiful. The "self-check in" was a little out of the ordinary, but worked out just fine. (Read your instructions for check in before you arrive.)

Upstate_Surfers Avatar
Upstate_Surfers
9/18/2018

5 star ratingBear Mountain Lodge This place was awesome. We never have been to this part of the state and found this place through our internet search for places to stay. It was very relaxing and clean and comfortable. Jim and his crew were very enjoyable to talk with and made you feel very welcome to be in their home. Highly recommend Bear Mountain if planning a trip to the PA Grand Canyon. Location of Bear Mountain makes it easy to get to all the sites around the Grand Canyon. The rooms are very cozy and love the mountain décor. Provided snacks and drinks was a nice touch as well as the welcome sign upon entering the lodge.

Peter F Avatar
Peter F
9/14/2018

5 star ratingGreat spot to explore the area. This is our second time staying here and found the space very clean and secluded from road. Host is super friendly and quick to respond to emails. Definitely will return! Recommend room with outside jacuzzi on main floor. If you like space, the wilderness suite has it. Check out the gift shop onsite for locally made items.

Jennifer L. Avatar
Jennifer L.
8/04/2018

5 star ratingGetting there: Beautiful drive through the forest-green Appalachians. Prepare for the ear popping. The driveway is marked and read the instructions sent to you when you first book your reservation. The sign is legible and Waze has no problem keeping signal and detecting the turn.

Arrival: You drive up a paved driveway into available spacing for six cars + stacking also there is an additional driveway beside the house. The house is more beautiful than shown on the photos. There is a comfortable size porch for sitting outside. When we entered we had a welcome bag with a hand-written note. All the house instructions are there (WiFi, fireplace, hot tub operation).

Settling In: After unpacking we explored the  main rooms and the grounds. The living room is cozy and has board games, a piano, exploration trail guides and brochures for adventure. There is available items to buy for gifts: slippers, pens, shirts etc. We also added a chess board to the inventory for use ; ) in the living room.

The kitchen is for guest-use but I believe they prefer you don't cook on the stove. We used the microwave, plates, silverware etc. during our stay without any hesitation.

The grounds have a bike storage shed, canoe, kayak. There isn't a firepit due to work being done, but I imagine it will make a return in the future.

Our Room: Canyon Room. The entire lodge is bear themed. It's adorable and cozy. It was flawlessly clean and was stocked with all necessities. There is a mini fridge in the bathroom (filled with NA drinks and snacks), a basket of fruit and pastries in the bedroom (restocked daily), robes and small toiletries... like Bear Soap. There is a remote controlled fireplace beside the bed and a beautiful new hot tub outside on a large private deck with curtains. Bring a big candle for mosquitos outside. The room was more spacious than I envisioned.

Our stay: Perfect. Sherri comes by each early afternoon and turns down the rooms, she is relatable, relaxed and she loves this lodge and what she does. We imparted a Stromboli her way and I am still curious how she liked it. We couldn't have asked for a more suitable choice for our stay in the Pa Grand Canyon. Thanks again!!!!

Travis R. Avatar
Travis R.
7/16/2018

5 star ratingLocated in God's Country.   Just a short ride out of Wellsboro, PA.  This is one of three properties owned by Jim Meade.  My aunt and uncle have been coming here for 10+ years and have stayed in all his properties.  We were very lucky and were able to rent out the entire lodge for our extended family.   So comfortable and felt like home.   Love the cabin decor.  The kitchen and rooms were well stocked with fruits, trail mix, snack bars and lots of great coffees and teas.   TVs are in the rooms only with the common area an ideal place for enjoying each other's company.  In addition, 2 hot tubs are on the property.  The caretaker visits each morning - and she is so sweet.  We made short trips and day long trips out from the lodge.  Ideally suited to get anywhere in this lovely part of PA.  We will be back next year and head up into NY and the Finger Lakes area.

Sherry U. Avatar
Sherry U.
8/07/2016

5 star ratingThis place is AMAZING! We stayed in the wilderness suite which was the perfect accommodations for us and our daughter who stayed in the "sitting room" on the pull out futon. Both rooms in our suite were extremely cozy and inviting, the picnic basket with the daily goodies was a great treat after spending the day sight seeing. Up in the common area there were different snacks to choose from, a microwave, oven and fridge, and the caretaker (Sherri) was super friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back to stay at the lodge in the future!

The only down side to staying in the wilderness suite is that we were on the bottom floor, meaning when the other guests at the lodge were up at 6 am we could here the footsteps and muffled conversations so keep this in mind if visiting with children.

**Please note: I will only state the truth and facts as I personally experienced them. I have no reason to lie or create misconceptions about the places I review. My family and I frequently visit these areas and places therefore my reviews are for my own future reference as much as they are for your decision making process. Lying in my reviews would be lying to myself.

Jennifer M. Avatar
Jennifer M.
3/25/2016

5 star ratingAmazing-will be back! Beautiful place, really affordable for all of the amenities, comfy, cozy, and welcoming. Felt like I was at home, but also had tons of privacy. Hosts were amazing-only saw them at checkout, but they were also very accommodating if we needed them, super friendly in the morning, and wonderful!

ionahdance Avatar
ionahdance
1/01/1970

5 star ratingFabulous I have stayed at these locations on multiple occasions.

They are perfect

Cozy and romantic

They are so clean and the staff is wonderful

They have so many special little touches that make it so wonderful

I highly recommend you treat yourself to a weekend or an over night

You won’t regret it

Thank you to the wonderful staff

I will be back

heatherk236 Avatar
heatherk236
1/01/1970